FINE DINING REVIEWS

Dining in Scottsdale.  Dining in Phoenix

SR RATED RESTAURANTS & DINING ESTABLISHMENTS

POMODORO BLACK TILE.jpg
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png

Pomodoro Italian Grill & Seafood  (rating scale of 1 - 5)

  • Located in Cave Creek:

6710 E. Cave Creek Road

Cave Creek, AZ 85331

(480) 524-0989

  • Date review:  July 10th, 2021

  • Points of Interest: Comfortable, friendly bar & warm inviting dining room

  • Ease of Access/Parking: ample self-parking

  • Atmosphere Rating (classy/casual dining):                  

  • Atmosphere Rating /Vibe (warm & friendly):             

  • Service/Server Rating:  

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:             

-  Fiori Fritti (zucchini stuffed with goat cheese (appetizer) excellent

-  Pasta Bolognese with meat sauce (entree) excellent

-  Grilled Salmon with Spaghetti (entree) excellent

-  Ossobuco (entree) excellent

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Tequila, splash of soda, salted rim & lime (heavenly)

-  Red Wine with dinner

  • Cost of Dining/value: $$$$

  • Reservations Yes/No/Not Necessary:

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

​Pomodoro Italian Grill & Seafood is a family owned establishment, and if you understand the Italian culture, that means everything!  Pomodoro is a warm, inviting atmosphere offering a variety of Italian favorites.  The pasta is homemade and definitely worth the drive to scenic Cave Creek.  While sitting at the bar, we had the pleasure of meeting with the owners.  They were friendly (typical Italians), as was the entire staff.  They allowed us to sample one of their specialties, the Ossobuco. Let let me tell you, it was absolutely heavenly!  The menu features many of your favorite Italian dishes, and they do it right!

 

Dine at the bar or in their comfortable dining room, either way you're guaranteed a wonderful dining experience. The cuisine at Pomodoro is flavorful and Italian-authentic. It's fine Italian dining in scenic Cave Creek and is one of our top recommendations when you're craving authentic Italian cuisine! Take the short drive north, to Cave Creek and ask for Federico or Phillip, tell them Scottsdale Road sent you.  Pomodoro is a top pick of Scottsdale Road, and highly recommended.

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies!  Pomodoro - IT'S HOT!

 

 4.5

 4.1

 4.0

 4.0

 4.5

 3.5

YES

YES

Overall Rating 4.1

OCEAN CLUB RESTAURANT
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png

Mastro's Ocean Club  (rating scale of 1 - 5)

  • Located in the Kierland Commons Shopping District:

15045 N. Kierland Blvd.

Scottsdale, AZ 85254

(480) 443-8555

  • Date review:  April 28th, 2021

  • Points of Interest: Lively bar scene featuring live music, and elegant dining area(s)

  • Ease of Access/Parking: easily accessible offering both valet and self-parking

  • Atmosphere Rating (upscale/dining):                  

  • Atmosphere Rating /Vibe (place to be seen):             

  • Service/Server Rating:  

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:             

-  Sauteed Sea Scallops (appetizer) excellent

-  Seared Bigeye Tuna (appetizer) excellent

-  Petite Filet 6oz. (entree) excellent

-  Blackened Swordfish (entree) excellent

-  Brussels Sprouts (side dish) excellent

-  Lobster Mashed Potatoes (side dish) excellent

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Tequila, splash of soda, muddled jalapeno, salted rim & lime (heavenly)

-  Red Wine with dinner

  • Cost of Dining/value: $$$$$

  • Reservations Yes/No/Not Necessary:

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

​Mastro's Ocean Club is definitely a cut above, offering a fairly expansive menu with many of your favorites. Sit at the bar or a cozy table in the dining room or patio. You're guaranteed a wonderful experience of sights, sounds and most importantly flavors! The food at Ocean Club is flavorful and quite satisfying, which is what you'd expect at a restaurant of this caliber (bring your checkbook, Ocean Club is definitely on the pricey side) . Ocean Club is fine dining in Scottsdale and is one of my our top recommendations! The exceptional fare, tasty cocktails and rich ambiance makes Ocean Club a top pick of Scottsdale Road, and highly recommended.

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies!  Mastro's Ocean Club - IT'S HOT!

 

 4.5

 3.8

 4.0

 4.6

 4.5

 3.5

YES

YES

Overall Rating 4.15

BOURBON & BONES RESTAURANT
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png

Bourbon & Bones Restaurant (rating scale of 1 - 5)

  • Located in Old Town Scottsdale:

4200 N. Scottsdale Road

Scottsdale, AZ 85251

(480) 629-4922

  • Date review:  March 10th, 2021

  • Points of Interest: Lively bar scene, and elegant dining area(s)

  • Ease of Access/Parking: Valet parking, limited parking, small lot

  • Atmosphere Rating (upscale/fine dining):

  • Atmosphere Rating/Vibe (place to be seen):

  • Service/Server Rating:

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:

-  Oysters on the half shell (appetizer) excellent

-  Pork Belly with Thai Chili Glaze (appetizer) excellent

-  Wagyu Steak (butcher's cut, entree) excellent

-  Seared Ahi Tuna (entree) excellent

-  Brussels Sprouts (side dish) excellent

-  Bourbon Butter Cake (dessert) heavenly

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Featuring more than 500 Bourbons

-  Weller Antique 107 (best pick)

  • Cost of Dining/value:  $$$$

  • Reservations:  Yes/No/Not Necessary

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

Bourbon & Bones combines two of my favorite things (Bourbon & Steak). With their bourbon/whiskey list surpassing 500 options, the bourbon/whiskey connoisseur is certain to find his/her happy place! I know I did. The atmosphere is upscale with a twist of rustic, it's open and airy and very comfortable. The bar is a place to see and be seen. GOOD TIMES are to be had at Bourbon & Bones, and it's located smack-dab in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale!

 

Bourbon & Bones will undoubtedly make our "TOP 10" list this year as it is a top choice in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area. We're not going to lie here, the host/hostess could definitely have been a a lot friendlier upon arrival, not a good way to begin a dining experience.  That said, after being seated at a very comfortable table, the sumptuous experience began with a friendly greeting from the expert waiter, Clint (yes, as in Eastwood). Clint was a professional through and through, which helped contribute to the exceptional meal/experience!

​​Bourbon & Bones offers one of the most impressive and expansive selections of bourbon/whiskey anywhere in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area (more than 500). If the bourbon isn't enough to win you over, the food certainly will. The food, from appetizer to dessert made for one of my more enjoyable meals of 2021 (that's saying a lot). Bourbon & Bones is fine dining in the valley and is a definite recommendation from me to you! From my waiter (Clint) to the bourbon selection, to the absolutely exceptional fare, Bourbon & Bones is a top pick of Scottsdale Road and comes highly recommended.

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies!  Bourbon & Bones - IT'S GREAT!

 4.6

 3.6

 4.0

 4.5

YES

 4.2

 3.5

Overall Rating 4.01

YES

BINKLEY'S RESTAURANT
IT'S HOT WITH STARS.png

Binkley's Restaurant (rating scale of 1 - 5)

  • Located in West Central Phoenix

2320 E. Osborn Road

Phoenix, AZ 85016

(602) 388-4874

  • Date review:  February 5th, 2021

  • Points of Interest: Comfortable patio(s), and eclectic dining area(s)

  • Ease of Access/Parking: Valet parking, limited parking, small lot

  • Atmosphere Rating (upscale/fine dining/experiential):

  • Atmosphere Rating/Vibe (eclectic/intriguing):

  • Service/Server Rating:

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:

-  Sweet & Sour Charred Octopus (appetizer) excellent

-  Steelhead Tartare Taco (appetizer)excellent

-  Smoked Gougere (appetizer) excellent

-  Cider Glazed Andoille Sausage (appetizer) excellent

-  Nantucked Bay Scallops (appetizer) excellent

-  Seared Foie Gras (appetizer) very good

-  Deep Fried Pork Belly (entree) excellent

-  Duck Brease au Poivre (entree) very good

-  Myer Lemon Infusion (after dinner) fabulous

-  Flash Frozen Banana Split (dessert) fabulous/showstopper

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Featuring multiple fine red & white wines

-  Angles Envey Bourbon

  • Cost of Dining/value:  $$$$$

  • Reservations:  Yes/No/Not Necessary

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

The dining experience was a 19 course spectacular, and once I finished I was in a total state of  incredulity, having just experienced one of my best meals of my food-loving life! This meal was without doubt one of the most unique dining experiences I've ever encountered, anywhere, anytime. Coupled with truly exquisite food and expert service, I'd say it was a meal I won't ever forget. Unfortunately, when I got up from the table and made my way to the exit, I felt as if I had lost a best friend. Yes, it was that good and even more reason to go back again!

 

This was a truly unique dining experience, on like I've never had prior.  It was nearly a three hour spectacle, and comes at a premium.  Be prepared to drop at least $225/person, and you absolutely must make a reservation as seating is limited. That said, Binkley's Restaurant is well worth the price of admission and comes with our highest recommendation!

 

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies!  Binkley's Restaurant - IT'S HOT!

 

Overall Rating 4.35

REQUIRED

 4.6

 4.2

 4.8

5.0

YES

 3.4

 4.1

STEAK 44 RESTAURANT
IT'S HOT WITH STARS.png

 4.5

 4.5

 4.8

4.7

YES

 3.4

 4.4

Steak 44 (rating scale of 1 - 5)

  • Located in West Central Phoenix

5101 N. 44th Street

Phoenix, AZ 85018

(602) 271-4400

  • Date of review:  January 28th, 2021

  • Points of Interest: Hip/happening bar scent/elegant, comfortable dining room(s)

  • Ease of Access/Parking: Valet parking, ample parking throughout

  • Atmosphere Rating (upscale/cozy/fine dining):

  • Atmosphere Rating/Vibe (electric/upscale):

  • Service/Server Rating:

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:

-  Kaluga Royal Amber Caviar (appetizer) excellent

-  Caeser Salad (appetizer) average

-  Stone Crab Claws (appetizer) very good

-  Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon (side) excellent

-  Whipped Potatoes (side) excellent

-  Wagyu Filet/Butcher's Cut (entree) excellent

-  Beignets with Chocolate Sauce (dessert) excellent

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Bondi-Santi Red (2012), Dom Perignon Rose (2006)

-  Weller Antique 107

  • Cost of Dining/value:  $$$$$

  • Reservations:  Yes/No/Not Necessary

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

Steak 44 offers one of the more impressive selections of Prime steaks and chops anywhere in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area, and is certainly considered one of the area's finest dining establishments, and from start to finish I knew it was one of the finest restaurants the valley has to offer. Steak 44 did not disappoint. With a professional staff, fine wine, top-shelf spirits, and most importantly exceptional cuisine, Steak 44 is a top pick of Scottsdale Road and comes highly recommended!

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies!  Steak 44 - IT'S HOT!

 

Overall Rating 4.38

YES

EDDIE V'S RESTAURANT REVIEW IN SCOTTSDALE, AZ
IT'S HOT WITH STARS.png

Eddie V's Restaurant (rating scale of 1 - 5)

  • Located in the Scottsdale Quarter/N. Scottsdale

15323 N. Scottsdale Road

Scottsdale, AZ 85254

(480) 730-4800

  • Date of review: December 18th, 2020

  • Points of Interest: Upscale comfortable bar scent/elegant, comfortable dining room(s)

  • Ease of Access/Parking: Valet parking, ample garage parking close

  • Atmosphere Rating (upscale/warm/fine dining):

  • Atmosphere Rating/Vibe: (classy/upscale):

  • Service/Server Rating:

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:

Lobster Tacos (appetizer) excellent

-  Crab Cakes (appetizer) off the charts excellent

-  Warm Goat Cheese & Wild Mushroom Salad (appetizer) excellent

-  Brussels Sprouts (side) excellent

-  8oz. Prime Fillet & Shrimp (entree) excellent

-  Chilean Sea Bass (entree) excellent

-  Banana's Foster Butter Cake (dessert) heavenly

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Tequila, muddled jalapeno, salted rim & lime

-  Any of their wine selection, all fantastic

  • Cost of dining/value: $$$$$

  • Reservations:  Yes/No/Not Necessary

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

We realize you have many options, of some truly great restaurants in the Scottsdale area, but if you desire a second-to-none dining experience, Eddie V's is a must!  With their fabulous menu selections, expansive wine list and exceptional service, it is a wonderful dining experience. We promise Petros, Eric, Richard and the rest of the staff at Eddie V's won't disappoint, and that's precisely why we give Eddie V's Restaurant, located in the Scottsdale Quarter our highest rating!

 

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies!  Eddie V's - IT'S HOT!

Link to Eddie V's blog

Overall Rating 4.46

 4.7

 4.6

 4.7

 4.8

 4.5

3.5

YES

YES

TOCA MADERA RESTAURANT REVIEW AT SCOTTSDALE ROAD.COM
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png

Toca Madera (rating scale of 1 - 5)

  • Located near Old Town Scottsdale (Fashion Square area)

4736 N. Goldwater Blvd.

Scottsdale, AZ 85251

(480) 930-4357

  • Date of review: December 10th, 2020

  • Points of Interest: Lively bar scene with DJ and hip music/unique, eclectic dining

  • Ease of Access/Parking: Valet parking, ample garage parking close

  • Atmosphere Rating: (upscale, eclectic, LA scene)

  • Atmosphere Rating/Vibe: (hip/electric, a scene)

  • Service/Server Rating:

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:

-  Guacamole with Plantain chips (appetizer) average

Calamari Frito (appetizer) good

Chicken Tinga Tacos (entree) excellent

-  Sea Bass Ensenada Tacos (entree) excellent

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Cold Mexican beer with salted rim and lime (Pacifico)

- Anything with Tequila (impressive Tequila selection)

  • Cost of dining/value: $$$$$

  • Reservations: Yes/No/Not Necessary

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

 

We would be remiss if I didn't mention the truly unique vibe of Toca Madera; not only was it packed with the prettiest people in Scottsdale, but it is warm and cozy with warm fires burning throughout. The atmosphere definitely gets a high rating as it was all brought to life with a thumping sound that gets your heart pumping!

 

At the end of the day, we all know it's the people that can either make or break a restaurant and Toca's people were terrific! One of the standouts was my bartender Keefer, who was fabulous - friendly, knowledgeable and a credit to the profession! If I had a younger sister I'd send right up to Keefer's bar!

I can pretty much guarantee you won't be disappointed with Toca Madera, from it's signiture tequila cocktails, flavorful tacos, and upbeat/electric atmosphere you simply can't go wrong. Make a night of it for a special date, a family affair or time with friends!

 

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies! Enjoy Toca Madera

 4.7

 4.5

 4.1

 4.5

 4.2

 3.5

YES

YES

Overall Rating 4.25

MASTRO'S RESTAURANT REVIEW AT SCOTTSDALE ROAD.COM
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png

Mastro's Steakhouse N. Scottsdale

  • Located in far North Scottsdale about four miles North of 101

8852 E. Pinnacle Peak Road

Scottsdale, AZ 85255

(480) 585-9500

  • Date of review: November 25th, 2020

  • Points of Interest: lively bar/live music

  • Ease of Access/Parking: Valet parking/ample parking close

  • Atmosphere Rating: elegant dining room

  • Atmosphere Rating/Vibe: lively

  • Service/Server Rating:

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:

-  Gorgonzola Mack-N-Cheese (side) excellent

-  Petite Filet (entree) excellent

-  Lobster Tail (entree) excellent

-  Butter Cake (dessert) heavenly

  • Recommended Coctail/Wine: All Wines on their list

  • Cost of dining/value: $$$$$

  • Reservations: Yes/No/Not Necessary

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

​The bar offers a comfortable atmosphere with quaint seating and a wonderful selection of libations. The bar staff definitely aims to please as they work hard to create a memorable experience. Mastro's is exactly what you would expect from a high-end steakhouse on all accounts including; food, dining experience, service/servers, atmosphere, wine list and cocktails.

With Mastro's is pretty much "what you see is what you get". When we say high-end steakhouse that's exactly what we mean. Be prepared to shell-out a few bucks for this meal as it will run you about $150 or more/person depending on your wine and drink selections.

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies!  Enjoy Mastro's Steakhouse!

Overall Rating 4.27

 4.2

 4.5

 4.4

 4.5

 4.4

 3.6

YES

YES

AMERICANO RESTAURANT REVIEW IN SCOTTSDALE, AZ
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png
GOLD STAR.png

The Americano - November 13th, 2020:

  • Located in North Scottsdale just South of 101

17797 N. Scottsdale Road

Scottsdale, AZ 85255

(480) 573-0001

  • Date of review: November 13th, 2020

  • Points of Interest:

-  Eclectic dining room & lively bar scene

  • Ease of Access/Parking:

  • Atmosphere Rating:

  • Atmosphere Rating/Vibe:

  • Service/Server Rating:

  • Food Quality & Recommended Dishes:

-  Meatball Pomodoro (appetizer) excellent

-  Caviar Fries (appetizer) excellent

-  Olive Oil Poached Octopus (appetizer) excellent

-  Caesar Salad (appetizer) average

-  Angnello Fiorentini Pasta (entree) excellent

-  Tiramisu (dessert) excellent

  • Recommended Cocktail/Wine:

-  Versace on the Floor (wonderful)

-  All wines from their list

  • Cost of dining/value: $$$$$

  • Reservations: Yes/No/Not Necessary

  • Scottsdale Road Recommended:

I really like The Americano for it's location, for the personal touch the General Manager and Sommelier add, and for the friendly staff.  In particular, I like the bar staff as they usually always remember what I'm drinking and usually never forget my name.  How great is that, CHEERS!

All in all, The Americano is a good restaurant and bar with better than average food, but with all the top-notch dining available in Scottsdale, I'm going to rate it good/above average and give it two thumbs up.

Bon Appetit my fellow foodies! Give Americano a try!

Link to The Americano blog

NEUTRAL

YES

 4.4

 4.2

 4.5

 4.0

3.9

3.2

Overall Rating 4.00

NEW Reviews Added Weekly